ZFSguru in Hyper-V

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Synthetickiller

Jul 16, 2011
I haven't found a lot of info on running a ZFS system in a VM. I wanted to do this so I don't have to build two physical systems.

I have enough hardware to run it without a performance hit:
C204 motherboard, Xeon E3 1270, 8 or 12gb DDR3, 6 sata ports.

I wanted to set up a 4 drive Raid Z using the onboard Sata 3 ports. Sata 6 isn't necessary as my network is only 1Gbps and that will be the bottleneck.

Does anyone have experience setting this up or a good walkthrough? I am new to Raid storage and I have limited experience with VMs in Server 2008 R2.

Any help is most appreciated.

nitrobass24

Dec 26, 2010
TX
Well Solaris isnt a supported HV guest OS, so that is probably why you dont see anything about it.

Does it mean it can be done though. Also currently ESXi is the only hypervisor to support VT-d for controller pass through.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
For that amount of storage go to http://www.vmware.com download ESXi and get the license then install it.
Next get vSphere Client and install that.
After that is complete, you do the ZFSguru installation in the ESXi instance from the vSphere client onto the OS disk.

With ZFS you typically want to have the storage pool disks passed through on a separate controller to the VM.

Synthetickiller

Jul 16, 2011
For that amount of storage go to http://www.vmware.com download ESXi and get the license then install it.
Next get vSphere Client and install that.
After that is complete, you do the ZFSguru installation in the ESXi instance from the vSphere client onto the OS disk.

With ZFS you typically want to have the storage pool disks passed through on a separate controller to the VM.
Thanks. I wanted to have an idea of what I'm looking for before starting this project. I'm waiting on ram, so I can't start today.