ZFS on Linux

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

cactus

Jan 25, 2011
CA
I have moved over to using ZoL simply because I am more comfortable in Linux than the SunOS children.

I currently am using ZoL on three systems. My desktop(G630/16GB RAM) with a 4 drive RAIDZ that was created on OpenIndiana. A HP Microserver N40L(4GB RAM) with a two drive mirror created in Linux. My VM datastore(G34 6128/32GB RAM), also created on OI.

My experience has been rather painless with one exception. I added RAM to my single G34 system, 16GB to 32GB, and started experiencing hardlocks. Browsing through the bug reports, it seems there is a problem with NUMA machines with large amounts of RAM. From what I have been able to surmise, each G34 chip is seen as two NUMA nodes.

Anyone else using ZoL? If so, what are your experiences?

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
I started playing with ZoL a few weeks back on a 2P G34 but have not touched NUMA setting yet.

My big worry is that ZoL does not gain traction. If it does, very exciting.

sotech

Jul 13, 2011
Australia
We moved our main server across after a period of testing (from OpenIndiana) and couldn't be happier with it. The decision was made based on the fact that most of us here have a lot of experience with Ubuntu whereas few were confident with Solaris... It has been just as stable and the array performance has either stayed the same or improved. One adventurous customer has moved his across, too, and he has had a very similar experience. He did record more of a performance improvement but he is running on quite different hardware to our own.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
Yea I know, we need main site ZoL posts... something that I have been working on but really short on time for. I think I did manage to do a how-to installation video... but still waiting for the new Youtube pre-roll to land.