ZFS ACL: user can create files but not read?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

blandoon

Aug 6, 2015
Eugene, OR USA
I am trying to setup a SMB share (in napp-it registered version) to make available in Owncloud, so that a user can create files, but cannot read other files in that share/folder. This is to allow users to login to Owncloud with a generic account and upload files, but not download files that others have uploaded (using the same credentials). Basically, I want to avoid having to provision a new account for every single person that submits a file to this folder, because it will be a lot of people, and they'll most likely be doing it once and then never again.

What ACL can I set to allow this? So far, everything that allows Owncloud to read the share also allows users to read all files.

Kybber

May 27, 2016
Bear in mind I have no experience with neither napp-ip nor Owncloud, but here's a thought for an alternative solution: It seems that it should be possible to create a post-create script (hook) which changes owner and/or read permissions for a file that was just uploaded. You could probably even move the file to another location if that would be preferable: Hooks — ownCloud Developer Manual 9.0 documentation

blandoon

Aug 6, 2015
Eugene, OR USA
Bear in mind I have no experience with neither napp-ip nor Owncloud, but here's a thought for an alternative solution: It seems that it should be possible to create a post-create script (hook) which changes owner and/or read permissions for a file that was just uploaded. You could probably even move the file to another location if that would be preferable: Hooks — ownCloud Developer Manual 9.0 documentation