X570 pci gen4 and hba advice

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Spagno

May 11, 2022
Hello people,
I'm building my new nas using a x570m pro4 motherboard. The pcie 4.0 x16 slot will be used for a asus hyper to have 4x nvme. The other x16 slot (4x electrical) will be used for a 10gbe adaptor and that's fine. Now we come in topic: the mobo seems to have a problem with a sata port so i though to use the second m2 (which is pcie 4.0 x4) with a riser card to 8x and i'm wondering if a hba pcie gen3 (like a lsi 3008) will work correctly without losing performance. Theoretically gen4 x4 should have the same performance than gen3 x8 so with a riser card from m2 to pcie 8x it should work... suggestion? Tips?

Thanks

Spagno

May 11, 2022
ok, i studied a little and from a gen4 x4 i can get a gen3 x4 but with the right riser card also a pci gen3 x8 hba should fit and if the math is ok, it should be enough for 8x sata 3 disks, any tip/advice/experience?

UhClem

just another Bozo on the bus
Jun 26, 2012
NH, USA
... Tips?
Tip: Whether riser card or riser cable, look for the PCIe slot to be open ended (so that, e.g., a x8 card can *fit* in the/a x4 slot).
Also, I present the following to raise your awareness to their existence: not as explicit suggestions/solutions; several variations of each exist. (Keep studying/learning ...)
M.2 - PCIe x4 (open) riser cable [Link]
M.2 - 5xSATA controller [Link]
M.2 - PCIe x4 riser card, open-ended [Link]

Reactions: jdnz

jdnz

Apr 29, 2021
Tip: Whether riser card or riser cable, look for the PCIe slot to be open ended (so that, e.g., a x8 card can *fit* in the/a x4 slot).
Also, I present the following to raise your awareness to their existence: not as explicit suggestions/solutions; several variations of each exist. (Keep studying/learning ...)
M.2 - PCIe x4 (open) riser cable [Link]
M.2 - 5xSATA controller [Link]