Workstation upgrade advice wanted

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jkemp

Jul 21, 2017
Hi all,

It has been a while since I have been here, but in my last thread I was given some very good advice. Unfortunately for me, I didn't really take it to heart and bought a Dell R810. The R810 will be sold, as I am a recent college grad and it would not be financially responsible for me to use it. Not only that, but it is overkill for my needs.

Admitted mistake aside, I own a Lenovo S30. I want to upgrade it to make it into a versatile machine. In specific, I am hoping to do some machine learning on it. It will also be used for general development. Keep in mind that as a recent grad I have yet to figure out what to do in my free time, so my main goal is to make a well rounded system rather than something process specific.

My budget is around $200 currently, but will be expanded. I know that my list of ideas will be more than my budget, but I am just planning ahead.

Noise and energy shouldn't be an issue. I plan on using the 2011 v2 series, which I have heard is relatively power efficient.

As for special software, there really isn't any. I plan on running TensorFlow CPU initially (not budget for a gpu), but that is well supported. Considering that the system base is already here, I don't have much choice.

Current specs:

E5-2620 v2
2x4gb ddr3 ECC, UDIMMS, 1600
Generic 500gb hdd, 7200rpm
GT 710

Potential goals:

E5-2660 v2, E5-2670 v2, or E5-2680 v2. Is there much reason to spend the ~$80 more for the 2680 v2 over the 2660 v2? Will it really speed up my machine learning projects that much?