whos using HDDsentinel ? (best hdd tool / app of all)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

james23

Nov 18, 2014
Hey I'm curious if anyone here is using HDD sentinel the Windows smart/hdd monitoring + testing app?

and if so how do you use it, in your use-case? (just curious, i ask as i rarely see it mentioned on the forums here, but it's an amazing tool IMO)

I've been using it for about 2 years now and simply put it's by far the best disk testing tool as well as disk monitoring and statistics extraction (smart info logging tool ). I'm pretty experienced in this regard, as I'm very often testing hdds (On average i'm testing ~1-4x HDDs a month + i have a home server with ~90 HDDs running 24/7 so hdd sent has been VERY helpful in monitoring those drives.)

I'm pretty active around here and i very rarely see this tool mentioned. I actually randomly came across it about 2 or 3 years ago and it first dismissed it as I thought no windows-based disk tool could be better or more detailed than the Lenox tools I had been using. ( including writing my own scripts for my disk stress testing, for example I wrote various linux bash scripts that would copy large amounts of data on and off of a disk while verifying (and logging) the sha1 checksums in both directions ). As well as some other rought scripts i made for stress testing things like running FIO while also running Seeker, both in loops, while at the same time logging througput/times + logging drive smart data ( to look for things like small blips on read error rate or smart sector error values - obviously a rough and not very accurate way of testing, but it would help me ID bad or failing drives).