Want to get used case for my new NAS server, how to know..

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

katit

Mar 18, 2015
I'm building FreeNAS server and seems like SuperMicro is a popular MB and case for such builds.
I'm sure many people will be interested to learn same info. I scanned eBay for 2U and 3U cases and there is a lot available for $200 shipped. With power supplies. There is complete systems with motherboards for little more. I need only case, power supplies and need to make sure I can use caddies and install my motherboard.. I'm really new to server hardware, with desktops I know I can put smaller MB into larger case.

All this looks good, but how can I tell if it is going to work for me? I guess I need to look at MB form-factor. If I picked X10SL7-F for my build, it's micro-ATX

Does it mean I can fit any bigger case?
Should I look at cases with power supplies on a side?
2U cases will fit all the drives I will ever want, should I still go with 3U for some reason?
Are those caddies hot-swappable and easy to connect? Do they fit standard 3.5 hard drives?

Any other pointers or suggestions on how to tell if case will or will not work?

Example:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Supermicro-...182?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5676a44f6e

From the look of it - I like it. Plenty of HDD slots. But the motherboard is larger than X10. Does it mean I can use this case without a problem?

PigLover

Jan 26, 2011
Does it mean I can fit any bigger case? Generally, yes. SM cases have mount points for most standard MB form factors.

Should I look at cases with power supplies on a side? If you are using SM rackmount then get one with their PSU. Caution: older SM PSUs are loud. Look for ones with Gold or Platinum rated PSUs (mostly because they are quieter - but also because they are more efficient).