Universal enterprise, reliable SSD brands?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

lapsio

Jul 24, 2016
Hello

I'm quite new to enterprise grade hardware so I'd like to ask about brands that produce really high quality SSD drives as I don't know any of them.

I'm running DIY Linux server with 20TB software RAID6 attached to 128gb SSD cache. Unfortunately I thought Samsung PRO series is kind of semi-enterprise grade but it seems it was terrible misconception. Luckily this was my first SSD ever and I heard they're usually faulty so i didn't really trust it in first place and used cache in write-through mode but still it failed like bilion of times with I/O errors and required array remount at least once a week and cache zero-ing up to point I removed cache at all. I was experiencing exactly the same failures with EVO series but I don't have any of those issues with budget GoodRAM CX100 so it's rather not software related issue. All SSDs tested in the same setup.

So this time I'd like to get something that will work. It doesn't need to be speed daemon but preferably something faster than CX100, But priority is reliability. I thought about HP drives but they seem to be dedicated to HP servers? I'm not sure. What are respected brands of server grade SSDs? Probably I'd be interested in eMLC or even SLC. Compatible with SATA 6. I probably wouldn't like to pay more than 250$ for 128gb though.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Intel
Hitachi
Sandisk
Samsung's latest Enterprise SSD are much lower latency than their previous gens and are looking to be contenders moving forward, esp. for price.

Check out the "GREAT DEALS" section and pickup Intel S3710 400GB for $200 or less :)
You'll be happy.

lapsio

Jul 24, 2016
Yes, i know Samsung SSDs have awesome performance, especially for those 40 minutes before they crash on i/o error :p