Understanding licensing for Server 2016

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Huy Le

Dec 1, 2015
This is my first time playing around with a windows server OS. We use 2012 at work, but im currently looking to expand my knowledge on Server 2016 and VMs. I am having some difficulty understanding how the licensing works though as i know it's per core.

I currently have a 16 core, 32 thread xeon in one socket only. If a license of Windows Server 2016 costs $200, how much would i end up paying? I'm confused as to what they mean as 2 core pack licensing as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

PigLover

Jan 26, 2011
One thing I've not been able to figure out with Server 2016 pricing - how can a really small business have a AD setup with redundancy? The Server 2016 "essentials" license looks ideal and easy to manage, but its not at all clear that you can have a second "essentials" license on the same network running a BDC (backup domain controller - or I guess what MS now wants to call a "replica domain controller").

Can anyone confirm whether a second essentials license is allowed to assume this role?

vl1969

Feb 5, 2014
starting with MS Server 2012 there is no PDC or BDC
you can have multiple Domain controllers running any time, in fact I am currently run 2 with synchronization turned on. only one can be the default DC at a time but they run just fine.
I run a redundant Hyper-V cluster on 2 Dell PE730dx and run each DC in a VM, one per node.
i.e. DC1 runs on node1 DC2 on node2. this way if one node is down second pickups the slack.
the DC VMs also run DNS role and DHCP roles with DHCP/DNS lease replication between them again if one VM is down second becomes primary and vice versa

Huy Le

Dec 1, 2015
So i would need to purchase a 16 core license or eight 2 core license packs. How do people afford this for homelabs? lol