Ubuntu 20.04 boot problem on SM X10DAX with 2xE5 26xx cpus

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Doppelbauer

Aug 8, 2016
I am new to Linux. Trying Linux/Ubuntu 20.04 on my SM X10DAX mobo, cpus 2x E5 2683 v3 (2x14 cores). Machine is working without any issues under Win10. Linux boot wont work, freezing on Supermicro boot screen.

If I introduce drastic Linux options in grub, mainly nolapic or (better) acpi=off, boot is working. With acpi=off, both cpus and 2x14 threads are available as expected, but needless to say, this option kills hyperthreading and some sources suggest possible problems with mobo fan and temp management. From a first glance at temps, these seem to remain ok, temps ramp up under heavy load, but very reasonably, fans seem to spin as normal. After stopping load temps come back quickly.

Any suggestions for other, less restrictive measures to make this work, and enabling hyperthreading? Thank you very much.

RTM

Jan 26, 2014
If you installed Ubuntu to boot via BIOS mode try UEFI (though it will require a reinstall) or the other way around if you installed to boot via UEFI.

Other than that you may want to ensure you have updated BIOS.

Doppelbauer

Aug 8, 2016
Thank you. Bios was updated to the latest version some time before. The culprit has been identified.