truenas core filesystem question

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jcizzo

Jan 31, 2023
Hi all, looking for some very simple guidance.

I'm an absolute novice with truenas (core and scale, never installed scale).

i'm building my first nas based on the latest stable release of core. for simplicity's sake lets assume the drive layout will be the following:

2x SSD's for base os (truenas core 13)
5x HDD's for storage pool (zfs of course).

here are my questions:

-when a jail is set up and plugins installed to that jail, where in the directory structure is it all located? is the jail(s) installed on the spinners or on the OS drives?

thanks for your patience

oneplane

Jul 23, 2021
Hi all, looking for some very simple guidance.

I'm an absolute novice with truenas (core and scale, never installed scale).

i'm building my first nas based on the latest stable release of core. for simplicity's sake lets assume the drive layout will be the following:

2x SSD's for base os (truenas core 13)
5x HDD's for storage pool (zfs of course).

here are my questions:

-when a jail is set up and plugins installed to that jail, where in the directory structure is it all located? is the jail(s) installed on the spinners or on the OS drives?

thanks for your patience
That's up to you: Docs Hub | Setting Up Jail Storage you can store it wherever you want.
I would recommend putting TrueNAS on a USB stick and using the SSD for ARC and ZIL instead. TrueNAS itself doesn't really benefit from SSDs once it is booted up.

jcizzo

Jan 31, 2023
regarding usb installs, i know it's possible, it's just not what i want to do at the moment.. i'm trying to learn this system from the very very basics before i go altering things.
i know i can install whatever i want anywhere i want, but what are the defaults when its "outta the box"?