Time to increase the number of SFF drives from 24 to 32 or ?? in 2u chassis

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

pgh5278

Oct 25, 2012
Australia
Patrick, with the number of Enterprise SSD now 7mm, do You foresee a move to increase SFF density from 24 to 32 or higher in a 2U, as the caddies are designed to accept 15mm drives, but drives a getting thinner ( wish I could )

Guess this may require a new standard, like the 15mm was the old standard..I understand there are models which have a double row of drives now, but this is a more costly option.
Using a 2U chassis with SFF drives below..shows even designed for 9mm drives their remains plenty of space for air to flow..not that I am a thermodynamics engineer..

upload_2016-7-27_0-30-47.png

Attachments

PigLover

Jan 26, 2011
There are still a lot of 15mm ssd. Pretty much all SAS ssd and the extreme scale drives like the Samsung 15.9tb drives (which also happen to be SAS).

I think the majority of chassis builders will keep 15mm support for quite a while - while some specialty chassis might appear for thinner drives.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
It is easier for the flash vendors to adopt NVMe and get more performance for front panel space and more internal volume for greater capacity.

The use case for up-ending current standard 2.5" caddy sizes comes down to more drives. You want more drives for performance or for capacity.
  • Capacity - With smaller 7mm form factors you have less volume for NAND so you are getting capacity from more devices not larger devices. With flash, you can just do this with packing more NAND. You also want fewer disk controllers. In theory you would want 24x 15TB disks rather than 36x 10TB disks because you can remove 12 SSD controller/ RAM sets from the array.