The next step, advice on home file server specs

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AntFurn

Aug 14, 2019
Hi - Yes I'm yet another noob here and hoping I can get some advice. I've tried to do some research but now I just feel overwhelmed with too many options. Current system at bottom of this post.

I'm think I've found the case I that suites sliding under my desk (it's the only location I have for it - blame small UK houses):
In-Win IW-MS08 In-Win IW-MS08 - Mini Tower Server Case w/ 8x Hot-Swap Bays (12Gbps MiniSAS HD Connection) - Server Case UK
Which limits me to a microATX mb - I'd like to have more than one PCIe slot for future use so ruling out ITX etc.

Q: What motherboard/CPU combo meets these needs?
Does it really need to be ECC ram?

Note I'm in the UK and surprisingly (to me anyway) a lot of motherboard/CPU/case combos I read about are really hard/expensive to get here.

Thanks for any suggestion,
Antony

Main file server requirements are:
Serving files! mainly to Windows PCs
Providing backup solution for those PCs
Sources for media players content
min 8x HDDs hotswap bays (and therefore SAS?)
easy addition of HDDs to storage pool (and therefore not raid 5)
1x HDD failure tolerant (thinking OMV + SnapRaid)
a couple of p2p 10gbe connections (and therefore 2xSFP+?)
external connection to backup enclosure (USB 3/esata?)

Significant considerations: (The three L's)
Low noise
Low power
Low maintenance
Will run 24/7 and only shutdown for long vacations.

Additional would nice options:
2x HDD failure tolerant for personal data files (photos (~8TB)/source code/3D designs etc)
Be able to run a couple of docker containers
Write cache SSD

Does not need to do:
Transcoding
Mining
directly accessible from internet

Current system:
OMV doing SMB shares to 6+PCs + media players
HP N40L 8gb (non ECC) (getting v/old now and run out of room to squash more HDDs in it!)