Supermicro CSE113-M / Front-panel Power Adapter

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

gb00s

Jul 25, 2018
Poland
While I'm using Asus Z10PA-D8 motherboards in Supermicro chassis with all of my servers at home, I always have to use a Supermicro 16pin front-panel power adapter. But these Supermicro CSE113-M 1U units, as well as the 813/815 units, have a fron panel connector with 24pins. I have to use the onboard DC-switch of the Asus motherboard.

DC_Switch1_rescaled.png

Unfortunately, this can be a hustle sometimes. Therefore I would like to get the front-panel power button/cable converted to the regular pattern of the Asus motherboard. But as mentioned before, this is 16pin (1) vs 24pin (2) in the picture below. I'm not an expert in finding out which connectors/pins are mandatory and which are not.

Power_Adapter1_resized.png

Was someone successful in doing this conversion in the past? I can not find anything about it in the wide internet.

Any help is appreciated. Have a nice weekend.

Last edited:

kapone

May 23, 2015
You're gonna have to get a bit creative.

The pinouts between the 24 pin vs 16 pin on the Supermicro side, is exactly the same for the 16 pins. The other 8 pins add more LED/button connections, but you most likely don't need them.

So, your problem is mating that 24 pin connector to the 16 pin adapter, which is not going to work without mangling the adapter (which is certainly an option). The other option...

Get a few of these - Extra-long break-away 0.1" 16-pin strip male header (5 pieces)

These are "extra long" 2.54mm male to male connectors in a strip. Break them off into two strips of twelve each. Plug them into the Supermicro front panel female connector. Pull out the female connector from that break away cable and now...plug it into the strips, but only for the 16 pins, the others will remain unused.