supermicro CSE-829 chasis with active CPU heatsink

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

azsrz

Apr 30, 2021
I am new to home servers and this is my first post. Recently I bought the supermicro sys-6028u-tr4t+ and found it's too noisy. I want to lower the fan speed but at the same time use active CPU heatsinks like R14 | Dynatron or R24 | Dynatron. Apparently the two riser mounts are in the way, as shown in the first photo.
IMG_7135.jpeg

I don't plan to install long GPUs in this case. The chassis has mounting points about 3" back and make me think there must be a shorter riser mount, which should be perfect for me. However after searching on the internet I only found barebones like this one:

SUPERMICRO CSE-829U-X10DRU-I+ BAREBONE CHASSIS 12LFF 2x HS 2x PSU | eBay

I am trying to get information from the seller. Also wonder if anyone here knows if there is a way to get the riser mounts without too much hassle. Or does anyone use a different active CPU heat sink that can work with the original mount?

IMG_7134.jpeg

Last edited:

Bert

Mar 31, 2018
You can use ipmitool tool to set the fan speeds. Most home use cases you can reduce the fan speed and temps should be in acceptable range. Search the forums on how to use ipmitool to set fan speeds in supermicro motherboards for more information.

azsrz

Apr 30, 2021
You can use ipmitool tool to set the fan speeds. Most home use cases you can reduce the fan speed and temps should be in acceptable range. Search the forums on how to use ipmitool to set fan speeds in supermicro motherboards for more information.