Spare server advice

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Iain Stott

Jan 15, 2017
Hi guys, nice forum, hopefully learn a lot just looking through.
Anyway looking for some advice really, I'm not an IT pro, chef by trade but like tinkering with computers. I've been given an old rackmount IBM x3650 79797AG 2x Xeon Dual Core 20gb ram. I've just been using it for backup of my original backup. So given that it is fairly old, slow and got a low core count, I would like to play around and learn something from it. First thing I'd like really is to up the core count. I've done a bit of research online, but to me it looks like a stalwart in IBM's line up for quite a while, and I'm having trouble finding out what's the exact compatibility of cpus for the motherboard. I bought a pair of quad core xeons a month or so ago, cheap, and the server wont boot with them, retrospectively looking back i didn't check L2 cache and got ones with 12mb, every other spec matched. So looking to replace them again now and ive found one document online that says max of 6mb, one that says 8mb and another that says 12. Needless to say I didnt get any documentation with it, how do I go about finding out for sure.

Also does anyone have any recommendations as to what to learn using it?? I already have the usual web, ftp, vpn, email, smb, nfs, kvm. Wouldn't mind looking at Vmware ESXi but control via linux being a bit lacking is putting me off. Also Windows Hyper-V and then Exchange and Sharepoint Servers, but unsure if the machine is capable of that.

Cheers in advance
Iain

Iain Stott

Jan 15, 2017
Cheers for the reply j_h_o, its not running Windows, it's running Ubuntu at the moment, but can install Windows if needed, Does CPU-z give the Motherboard info like maximum L2 Supported, as I did get CPU info from /proc/cpuinfo but didn't think L2 was something I needed to check, my bad.

Deslok