Some questions from a new owner of SM SC846 & SC847 Chassis

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

cgtechuk

Dec 27, 2016
Hi All,

I recently snapped up a bargain here in the UK and managed to get a 24 bay SC846 and a 36 bay SC847 JBOD both with SAS2 Backplanes with expander chips for £400 / $460 which I thought was a great deal .

I have a few questions though as I am new to backplanes and expanders.

There was a motherboard with the SC846 but I didn't get it included to save costs. It came with a SI 9280 Megaraid 4i4e card which I will swap out for a 9201 or 9211 card to get HBA IT Mode

Config wise the SC846 has 1 x 8087 cable which connects to backplane bpn-sas2-846el1
and the SC847 has the CB1 JBOD Power board rather than a MB and has 2 x 8088 connectors on the back which go to backplane bpn-sas2-846el2 as 8087 connectors then from there 2 come out the expander and connect to the rear 12 bay drive backplane. The 8088 connector obviously connects to the SC846 chassis on the ex port.

So if you are still with me this far, I thank you!.

What I am aiming to do is to put a Supermicro X10-SAO in the SC846 chassis and connect as JBOD to the SC847 however here is where I have issues. My drives..

I have a pile of
SAS2 Running at 6GB/s Hard Drives
SATA3 Running at 6GB/s
SATA2 Running at 3GB/s