Some information about HP T620 Plus Flexible Thin Client machines for network appliance builds...

Discussion in 'DIY Server and Workstation Builds' started by BLinux, Jul 2, 2018.

  1. rpotter28

    rpotter28 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is running 45 C at idle on pfSense. Does that sound about right?
     
    #141
  2. zer0sum

    zer0sum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    57
    Looks about the same as mine, although it is my primary firewall so it's loaded with normal web traffic :)

    [​IMG]
     
    #142
  3. rpotter28

    rpotter28 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! here is mine.

    [Untitled].jpg
     
    #143
  4. BLinux

    BLinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    666
    no fancy GUI, but yes, similar... mine is about 40C:

    Code:
    [root@firewall ~]# sensors
    radeon-pci-0008
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:        +40.0°C  (crit = +120.0°C, hyst = +90.0°C)
    fam15h_power-pci-00c4
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    power1:           N/A  (crit =  24.99 W)
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:        +39.9°C  (high = +70.0°C)
                           (crit = +100.0°C, hyst = +99.0°C)
    
     
    #144
  5. rpotter28

    rpotter28 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My unit shipped with a mSATA drive, but had the M.2 slot free. So I *stole* the black screw from the front, near the DisplayPorts and it works perfectly for holding the M.2 drive I added!
     
    #145
  6. BLinux

    BLinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    666
    what "black screw from the front" do you mean? photo?
     
    #146
  7. rpotter28

    rpotter28 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    #147
  8. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    35
    I did something smilar too, just cannot remember which screw I took, though for the mSATA :)
     
    #148
  9. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    157
    Any luck with the 16GB DIMMs? Also, were you able to get the downgrade on the BIOS done? If not, I'll ping my HP guy so he can walk me through the process.
     
    #149
  10. MiniKnight

    MiniKnight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    830
    Mine runs around 40C. It isn't too bad.
     
    #150
  11. rpotter28

    rpotter28 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't seen it in this thread, but you can do a pfSsense serial install absolutely no problem on the t620 plus. Meaning you don't need a vga install and a DisplayPort to HDMI converter if that was what you were thinking.
     
    #151
  12. Eugeni

    Eugeni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently I have version 2.4.4-p1 installed on an HP EliteDesk 600 G1 working perfectly. I also had the pfsense on an HP Thin Client T610 Plus and right now I am waiting for the arrival of the HP Thin Client T620 Plus.
    In my case, electric consumption is an important issue since it is a device connected 24 hours 365 days a year.
    The step from the T610 Plus to the EliteDesk 600 G1 has been thinking about AES-NI since the HP Thin Client T610 Plus does not support it in the next version 2.5 of the pfSense.
    The 30w consumption that currently uses the EliteDesk 600 G1 will be drastically reduced to just 10w with the energy and economic savings that means.
    Best regards from Catalonia
     
    #152
  13. nthu9280

    nthu9280 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    330
    I've T620 for pfSense also but with slightly older Intel Pro/1000 PT Quad NIC and my power draw was about 20W.
    My comment above was regarding T730 and it's pricing at that time was over $200. It might have come down by now.
     
    #153
  14. Eugeni

    Eugeni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had planned to install an Intel I350-T4 PCI-Express PCI-E Gigabit RJ45 Four ports. When I install it I will check the consumption.
    Best regards
     
    #154
  15. seaverd

    seaverd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased an hp t620 plus and i350 quad nic card and am getting ready to install pfsense.

    Is there any consensus on the best/recommended bios? I see that that June or July 2018 which is version 2.18 is the latest available...but then someone in this thread posted the bios changelog which indicated that from 2.15 on they fixed an issue which prevents reverting the bios to an earlier version. Another post has an image all set for 2.17....so any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

    PS - I don't know what version of the bios my HP t620 has as I only have one display port monitor and cable and it runs from first floor to basement. Basically because my cabling is difficult to get to, I need to do bios update immediately followed by pfsense install. So I am looking for opinions in advance.

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
    #155
  16. nthu9280

    nthu9280 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    330
    I'm running the latest and have not had any issues. I did not run any performance comparison though.
     
    #156
  17. Dhiru

    Dhiru Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    OpenVPN process maxes out a single cpu core at 250mbps with AES-128-GCM cipher and LZ4-v2 compression.
     
    #157
  18. nthu9280

    nthu9280 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    330
    @Dhiru:

    I was only getting ~130mbps using openssl -speed. How are you measuring the OpenVPN speed?
     
    #158
  19. Dhiru

    Dhiru Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am using iperf3 inside the tunnel across the endpoints to check for the speed.
     
    #159
  20. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    35


    @WANg finally got the sodimms through customs..
    OwnDrive

    more text later

    EDIT1: so i can confirm 2x16G SODIMMs are working with T620 plus. :D
    On the flip side, it seems the seller of the DIMMs sold me without testing so when i woke up this morning, MemTest86 8.1 UEFI version gave errors. Now i'm running the memtest with only one of the DIMMs since one DIMMs had a marking of I or L on 2 of the chips, which i find very strange (was it kind of marked for error/broken?). So far after 1#4 round of the other DIMM, it's stilling running wihtout any error.

    It's now been over 2 months with delays etc, so i doubt i can claim any refund?
     
    #160
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019

Share This Page