Securing and Hardening FreeNAS against Hackers?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Socrates

Dec 28, 2016
Hi all,

I am sure the question has been debated to death here before. I did try to look up on the forum, but couldnt find much info, i guess i am using the wrong terminology to search.
So dear mates of the forum, i trust your word more than the members words at FreeNAS itself for this topic and debate.
FreeNAS community as a whole do not prefer using FreeNAS on ESXi, and rather choose it over a dedicated hardware. I am sure many folks here also prefer that, but i really cannot do that right now. I have a dedicated AV rack, and about 5-6 super micro 3u or 4u chassis, i am using ESXi with multiple VM's. I am completely new to FreeNAS, and initially i'd like to use my current hardware, hence want to try out going the virtual route.

I have been reading that FreeNAS is easier to hack into than a router or a printer. And many people report events recorded in their event manager about instrustion as soon as they add the NAS to internet facing.
I've been reading lots of folks do not have NAS attached to the internet but instead on a seperate router or vlan, completely disconnected from the internet.

I would like to get your opinions about hardening, securing freenas against hackers and preying eyes.
I was reading elsewhere, few tips such as disabling root, disabling password based login, and use public and or private keys. Adding intricate rules, layers in firewalls such as pfsense or sophos to secure NAS
I'd like to know from the uber folks from you here, how do u protect your freenas setup?
The only reason i need to attach freenas to the internet, is for backing up my freenas data to Amazon Drive: Cloud Storage (damn they had a sweet 45 dollar deal for unlimited storage for the entire year recently, i'd like to use that.. :D)

wildchild

Feb 4, 2014