scp -r --- Is my old habit terrible?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Jeggs101

Dec 29, 2010
I have a Linux server with the sole purpose of being a file server. It runs CentOS. It doesn't have any file services. Instead, I just
Code:
scp -r username@hostname:/path/to/dir .
then one of about 20 directories for the task I am doing.

I've been doing this for 7+ years so I'm accustomed to it. The only thing I don't really like is that it's on a separate server (not a NAS) and it's easy. The only part I'm not loving is that the hostname is long and there's minimal chance to shorten.

Does anyone else do this? It's gotta be world's worst admin habit.

whitey

Jun 30, 2014
scp is tried and true
rsync -avz (rsync over ssh as well if you set it up right)
netcat send receive switches (tcp/ip swiss army knife)
nfs/smb/iscsi (std network protocols/services)

Pick your poison, for small directories and daily tasks I use scp -r or sftp client (openssh across *nix systems) all the time. Nothing wrong w/ it, right tool for the right job I guess it boils down to.

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA
Nothing wrong with it by itself - I must type "rsync -avrmHz --progress --partial blah@foo:/..." 30 times on a slow day. I usually stick to rsync because it doesn't waste time copying what I have already and I can restart it if needed with those options.

Now if you are always pulling the same set of files form one server for some reason and it is something that should be in some sort source control then possibly tweak for that but otherwise don't fix what isn't broken. Just alias it to something with your shell or wrap it in a shell script if the server name is crazy (or CNAME it in DNS, add it to hosts).

TuxDude

Sep 17, 2011