Sanity check on ESXI host networking

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

kerrigansuperfan

Apr 28, 2023
Hey all. Newbie here, decided to start playing around in the homelab world so here I am. I picked up 2x R620s, a Brocade 6610 L3 switch, and a VMUG membership. I want to play around with vCenter, but when I went to install it, was notified that NTP needed to be set up. No problem right? Just ensure there's connectivity to the internet, right??

I want to be secure and play around with OPNsense / Grafana so I decided on trying to route all VM traffic (to include ESXI management traffic) through a OPNsense VM running in ESXI. Not sure if this is a good idea or possible but here we are. Anyway that idea led me to this network diagram. I mostly followed this guide (thank you for getting me this far Kapone). I feel like I'm almost there, OPNsense can ping 8.8.8.8 from both WAN and LAN interfaces, and it can see my ESXI host IP address 10.0.30.3. When I SSH into ESXI at 10.0.30.3 I can ping both OPNsense router interfaces (WAN and LAN), but not 8.8.8.8. In fact when viewing the live log in OPNsense, when I ping 8.8.8.8 (or 192.168.1.1) from my ESXI host IP, I see the packet going out passing through the firewall but nothing comes back. I can only assume 8.8.8.8 receives the ping but for some reason it's not getting routed correctly back to ESXI host all the way back through the network. There's gotta be a simple solution here. Here's my routing table in the brocade switch:

brocade#show ip route
Total number of IP routes: 6
Type Codes - B:BGP D:Connected O:OSPF R:RIP S:Static; Cost - Dist/Metric
BGP Codes - i:iBGP e:eBGP
OSPF Codes - i:Inter Area 1:External Type 1 2:External Type 2
Destination Gateway Port Cost Type Uptime
1 0.0.0.0/0 10.10.10.2 ve 2 1/1 S 1h7m
2 10.0.20.0/24 DIRECT ve 2 0/0 D 1h7m
3 10.0.30.0/24 DIRECT ve 3 0/0 D 1h11m