SAN target on linux

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

tinfoil3d

QSFP28
May 11, 2020
Japan
Hi.
Anyone can get me oriented in iscsi a little bit.
I've read there are two common ways to deploy a target on linux: scst and kernel-builtin lio with targetcli.
Aside from that there isn't really much info to judge which is better or faster.
And I'm totally new to the topic. I have this dell server here with an it-crossflashed perc that i can put a whole bunch of 3.5 disks into. And I have at least two, but potentially more small servers which are supposed to be initiators.
Now I can see that both scst and lio support a qlogic 16g hbas.
The question is basically, which one is faster, and is it better/faster to use ethernet or fc hbas to serve the thing? I mean, ethernet is simplier(but no switching would be involved as only two nodes currently planned, direct connect would suffice), but fc is faster (16g vs 10g). Ethernet can be faster if I'd jump to 25 or 40 or 50gig which are a little bit more expensive but then I'm not sure speed would ever go above 16gig for 1 port as no nvme ssd is planned and applications generally would not need that much bandwidth but above 10g is preferred so I think fc?
Besides, I'm gonna get som experience with SANs on my own. When it comes to SAN i'm only watching from afar, never touched the thing myself and only have vague idea. Am I even heading the right way, I mean, I can serve my individual disks to the individual nodes this way right? And I can choose if I use ethernet, fc or something else as a fabric?
The info on enterprise SAN is either too technical with lots of reading just to get the idea is involved or just scarce. But I figured I can probably use the skill. Many companies in Japan just love SANs. Although, I bet they also never heard of a regular linux being a target.

EffrafaxOfWug

Radioactive Member
Feb 12, 2015