Review of White Label 4TB drives

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

izx

Jan 17, 2016
If your goharddrive reports a slightly higher capacity than spec'd -- say 4.5TB or 6.3TB -- it's a WD Ae "cold-storage" drive that's rated at only 10x r/w per year. 5700rpm, PMR, no error recovery support.

The WD Ae hard drive is best suited for cold storage, backup and data archiving where data is stored on disk but rarely if almost never read again yet may be critical at some future point, prime examples being legal data or photo backups.

OBasel

Dec 28, 2010
Like a year later and I've seen prob like 40% of these drives fail. I'm about done with platters.

Terry Kennedy

Jun 25, 2015
New York City
www.glaver.org
Like a year later and I've seen prob like 40% of these drives fail. I'm about done with platters.
I've been running 64 WD2003FYYS (RE 2TB) for over 5 years and I've only had 6 of them fail. One of them was a hard failure where the drive vanished from the SATA bus and wouldn't come back, even after a power cycle. The other 5 developed things like an offline uncorrectable sector and went back while the data was still readable. These were purchased in new bulk 20-packs from reputable places like Tech Data. I try to avoid buying drives at retail, even new ones, because the packaging and handling aren't always up to manufacturer standards. One popular online site is well-known for simply dropping an antistatic-bagged drive in a cardboard box with some air pillows (which pop the first time the box is moved).

I wouldn't buy a used re-certified drive, even from the manufacturer. While the majority of returns are "no problem found", an intermittent problem may not be detected during the short (24 hour) test the manufacturer uses to weed out the "no problem found" drives from the ones that are really broken.