Questions about NAS-OS and Networks

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

makarai

Aug 8, 2022
Hey all,

Hope everyone is having a great week so far.

I have been reading STH for some time but never had anything to contribute as most people here are much more knowledgeable than me, In fact, I have 0 IT background. So, this is my first post on this lovely forum, I hope I don't break too many rules.
I am a physicist, so naturally, I have had to deal with the internet and large datasets for quite some time, and somehow homelab-ing became a relaxing hobby for me (last 6 years).

Now, I am sitting in front of my home lab and wondering if I did a decent job. And with quite a few questions: Which I don't really know how to ask in an organized way, so I am just throwing them out in an unsorted manner, but first I’d like to give a short insight into my home stuff. I employ a good mix of retired gaming machines and purposefully bought things.

Topology:

Hardware:
Firewall:
  • Opnsense 22.7_4-amd64
  • Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz (4 cores, 4 threads)
  • Biostar H61MHV2
  • 8064 MB of RAM
  • 120 GB SSD
  • Intel X520-DA2 82599ES (SFP+)

Switch:
  • TP-Link T1700G-28TQ (pretty old, looking at the beefs tho, if its necessary)

VM-System:
  • Proxmox 7.2-7
  • AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12/24-Core Processor
  • Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
  • 32 GB RAM
  • 500GB SSD + a 4 TB HDD
  • Intel Corporation 82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection (rev 01) DAC

Jellyfin/Emby/Plex (Docker Host):
  • Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye)
  • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
  • ASUS Z170-DELUXE
  • Nvidia - GP106GL [Quadro P2000]

NAS:
  • TrueNAS Core 12.0-U8
  • Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1240 v5 @ 3.50GHz
  • Supermicro X11SSM-F
  • 48 GB ECC RAM
  • Case: X-Case RM424 Pro-EX V2 24 - 12Gb Expander back plane