Question about ProxMox Container and ZFS Storage

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

voxmortis

Oct 3, 2016
**SOLVED**

Hello... I have a question regarding ProxMox, ZFS and and Ubuntu container. I'm new to proxmox and zfs in general.

The server:
2x Xeon 2670
128GB RAM
4x4TB Seagate drives in a RAIDZ (name = "mainpool" mounted /mnt/mainpool)
1x128GB SSD Running ProxMox and my VM's

I have an Ubuntu container mounting "mainpool (/mnt/mainpool)" to /mnt/shares. The Ubuntu container is running from the SSD, which has about 30+ GB available space.

The issue the ubuntu container only sees 36GB of storage space for the "mainpool" mountpoint (as opposed to 12TB). I have SAMBA and Plex running in this container with the drive mapped in my windows and mac machines.

I can't copy my library into my Samba mapped drive from my desktop because the container doesn't see the available zfs pool space.

How can I get the container to correctly see the available space in the ZFS pool?

plex@ubuntusmb:~$ df -h /mnt/shares
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/dm-0 37G 13G 22G 37% /mnt/shares

root@pve:~# zpool list
NAME SIZE ALLOC FREE EXPANDSZ FRAG CAP DEDUP HEALTH ALTROOT
mainpool 14.5T 984K 14.5T - 0% 0% 1.00x ONLINE -
root@pve:~# zfs list
NAME USED AVAIL REFER MOUNTPOINT
mainpool 523K 10.2T 140K /mainpool

Thanks!!

Last edited:

whitey

Jun 30, 2014
Instead of deleting posts/content would you care to share your fix/resolution in case someone here runs into the same obscure issue or similar question/config? If it's a 'DOH/embarassing moment' it's very likely we can accommodate.

Reactions: psylenced

xnoodle

Jan 4, 2011
I think I had to manually create a mount point for this versus using the GUI.

voxmortis

Oct 3, 2016