Quanta LB4M switch configuration

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

kartikv

Jul 31, 2015
Hi,

I am trying to make this switch work like a switch, connected to a router. How do I do this? I simply need the text book definition of a switch working here. I have logged into the GUI but there are many many options which I don't understand.

I purchased this switch because I am a systems administrator and connect upto 20 computers (virtual) at home. While doing this my traditional netgear switch may be becoming a stopping factor. My configuration is pretty simple:

[isp modem/router combo] <-> [personal router for home network which get's a dhcp address from ISP and gives out dhcp and static] <-> [personal switch to serve about 20 physical and virtual machines]

neo

Mar 18, 2015
Reset the switch configurations to defaults and use it as a switch. You don't need to configure anything.

kartikv

Jul 31, 2015
I reset the configuration to factory defaults.
I have one linux computer properly configured connected to the switch, I cannot ping the router from it.
I can successfully ping the router and google's DNS server (8.8.8.8) from the "PING TEST" in the GUI.

Thanks for all your help.

Scott Laird

Aug 30, 2014
I can't remember, does the LB4M default to having all ports shut down? You may need to re-enable all of them. That'd give the symptom that you're seeing.

kartikv

Jul 31, 2015
It certainly appears that all ports except the management port are down. There seems to be no indication in the GUI that this is indeed the case, it would also be very odd for this to be the default behavior. I am at a loss, please help.

PigLover

Jan 26, 2011
... it would also be very odd for this to be the default behavior. I am at a loss, please help.