Proxmox High IO Delay - Low Fsync. What's wrong?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

JC Connell

Apr 17, 2016
I recently built a dual E5-2670 Proxmox host after discovering how affordable they had become. I purchased many of the parts from the suggestions of users in the great deals forum. This is really my first foray into virtualization so I am still learning how to address some issues.

The host has:
-Intel S2600cp
-2x E5-2670
-128GB RAM
-2x 256GB SSD in mirrored ZFS vdev (Crucial MX100, Samsung pull from Lenovo T510, unsure of model), connected to the onboard SATA ports for VM
-Intel RMS25KB080 cross flashed with LSI9205-83 IT firmware
-- 2x 2TB + 2x 6TB in mirrored ZFS vdevs for data attached the the Intel card

Last night, I noticed IO delay in the 7-10% range and some of my VMs slowed down considerably. I run about 8 containers and 2 VMs, all using the defaults or suggested best practices by Proxmox.

I ran pveperf on the two pools and got the numbers below:

Code:
pveperf VM vdev:
CPU BOGOMIPS:      166025.28
REGEX/SECOND:      1528845 
HD SIZE:           185.95 GB (r0ssd240gb)
FSYNCS/SECOND:     159.21
DNS EXT:           102.47 ms
DNS INT:           76.59 ms

pveperf data vdev
REGEX/SECOND:      1490789
HD SIZE:           6825.08 GB (vol1)
FSYNCS/SECOND:     84.23
Are these numbers normal? Can they be improved? What should I look into to improve performance?

rubylaser

Jan 4, 2013
Michigan, USA
I recently built a dual E5-2670 Proxmox host after discovering how affordable they had become. I purchased many of the parts from the suggestions of users in the great deals forum. This is really my first foray into virtualization so I am still learning how to address some issues.

The host has:
-Intel S2600cp
-2x E5-2670
-128GB RAM