Powershell programming help.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Chuntzu

Jun 30, 2013
I'm trying to create some powershell to distribute video encoding to each of my computers in the house. So far I have done just that. I actually created a function that does great on a single localhost or to another computer just fine using ffmpeg for now. What I would like to do now is take each of these chunks of any array (the array is of my movie files) and have it be a work list for each computer. Since I am pretty new to programing in general I am trying to find a loop,while,foreach that works with this idea and I am stumbling with it. So far here is what I have.

Function Split-Every($List, $count) {
$aggregateList = @()

$blocks = [Math]::Floor($list.Count / $count)
$leftOver = $list.Count % $count
for($i=0; $i -lt $blocks; $i++) {
$end = $count * ($i + 1) - 1

$aggregateList += @(,$list[$start..$end])
$start = $end + 1
}
if($leftOver -gt 0) {
$aggregateList += @(,$list[$start..($end+$leftOver)])
}

$aggregateList
}

$Directories = '\\servername\Videofilder\'
$Dir = get-childitem $Directories -recurse
$extensions = @(".mkv", ".mp4", ".mov")
$FileSize = $Dir | Where-Object {$_.length/1MB -gt 500}
$List = $FileSize | where {$_.extension -in $extensions}
$VideoFileChuck = Split-Every -List $List -count 25

So what this now leaves me with is $VideoFileChunks[0] which has the first 25 movies, $VideoFileChunks[1] has the next 25 movies, etc... On a single computer I would then pipe

$VideoFileChunks[0] | % {& $FFMpeg -y -i $_.fullname -vcodec $vcodec -b:v $vbitrate -acodec $acodec \\servername\Videofilder\ConvertedVideo\ $($_.basename).mp4}

and it would convert the video (I have ffmpeg variables in the function as well and they work fine but will probably rethink that as I develop the idea more and want to add more tools)