Please help with Audio PC setup

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Narcissus

Aug 25, 2014
Greetings Everyone, my first post here and probably many more in the future

I'am in the process of building a computer for audio purpose only. I'am a complete noob with computers besides using them. I have been researching for days, probably a month and I did find some answers, but I want to be 100% sure if I'am buying the correct parts which are compatible.

I believe some of you might be kind enough (if i may add, highly skilled experts with immense knowledge of computers) to help me out with this dilemma & queries which bog my mind.
the configuration....

Case- either streacom FC10, hdplex 5 (new gen, to be released anytime now) or a tried and tested Silverstone TJ 08 E
Mobo Intel S1200V3 motherboard
Intel Haswell Xeon E3-1230L v3 CPU
PPA studio USB card
SSD 16GB Apacer SLC industrial type or CF card (for more advanced users)
the ram would be 2x2GB Apacer ECC DDR3-1066 RAM, CL7, unbuffered, industrial series (extended temp range from -45 to +85
Thermalright HR02 heatsink
PSU highly recommend multi-rail (3.3v, 5v, 12v) linear PSU directly into motherboard.

I'am confused about the MOBO, there are 4 versions in the intel s1200v3 family, RPL, RPO, RPM, RPS. Please remember this will be a dedicated PC for playing audio only.
I have been asked to choose the one with minimum features, which one would that be?

providing a few links (some authored by Patrick) for a quick read....

Intel® Server Board S1200V3RP Family

https://forums.servethehome.com/ind...150-haswell-processors-and-motherboards.1816/

http://www.servethehome.com/2014-refresh-intel-xeon-e3-1200-v3-comparison/

ARK | Compare Intel Products

thank you in advance and best regards,
Ben
p.s. OS would be windows server 2012 r2.

Mike

May 29, 2012
EU