Planning the network of a small radio broadcast station

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

joao.aveiro

Jan 7, 2023
Dear all,

I have been following the STH Youtube channel for some time, but this is my first post in the Forum. I am currently planning the renovation of the network infrastructure of a local non-profit radio station in Portugal and, since I’m just a student and hobbyist, it would be very helpful to hear the suggestions and insights of many of you who are much more experienced than I am. I don't know if this is the place and time to write such a post, but I'm giving it a shot.

Background:

I am a student and hobbyist who has been managing, for the past few years, the IT infrastructure and cloud services of a local non-profit broadcast station. Our networking infrastructure is badly designed and it has been growing without any solid plan for the past few years. I would like to perform a overall renovation to improve reliability, allow for greater speeds (10Gb connectivity in some links), and allow for future expansion and implementation of a stable Audio over IP (e.g. AES67/Dante) infrastructure.

There are three primary locations with networked devices:
  • The first is a small room with the most critical devices, such as the studios computers (2 to 3), NAS devices (1 currently, probably 2 to 3 in the future), servers (2 towers), and a few other miscellaneous devices (as well as various audio/broadcast equipment). Most of these equipments are now quite old, large, and are scattered around the room, resulting in a lot of heat and a large footprint used. The idea is to gradually migrate to small computers (e.g. NUCs) and rack mounted devices, and mount them in a single rack (not the same as the networking rack). Here, some 10Gb links and redundant connections (to different access switches) for the server would be interesting.