pfSense DNS resolver error?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

drohack

Mar 29, 2023
I'm new to setting up a pfSense router and am having some odd cases where some URL's are not working. I do have pfBlockerNG setup, but I've tried disabling the firewall/removing rules and none of those helped. So my guess is that it's not the firewall, but some sort of DNS resolver issue.

My setup:
  • pfSense version 2.7.0-DEVELOPMENT (amd64)
  • DNS servers 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 are setup
  • DNS Server Override: Disabled
  • DNS Resolution Behavior: Use local DNS (127.0.0.1), fallback to remote DNS (default)
  • General DNS Resolver Options/(enabled) Enable DNS resolver
  • DNSSEC: (enabled) Enable DNSSEC Support
  • DNS Query Forwarding: (enabled) Enable Forwarding Mode
I think I've left basically everything as default settings.

I'm getting 2 very similar issues:
  1. DNS Resolves the URL, but I can't ping the URL
  2. DNS resolves, and I can ping/nslookup from pfSense, but on my PC it doesn't work.
For issue #1 I'm having issues with the following 2 URLs:
  • usw2.pure.cloud
  • restream.io
When I go to either of these sites in a browser (on my desktop) I get the following error:
This site can’t be reachedrestream.io’s server IP address could not be found.
When I ping I get the following error:
Ping request could not find host restream.io. Please check the name and try again.
When I do a nslookup i get the following error:
Server: [server name here]

Address: 192.168.1.1

*** [server name here] can't find restream.io: Server failed
In pfSense/Diagnostics/DNS Lookup I am able to hit both of the URLs just fine.
BUT when I do pfSense/Diagnostics/Ping I get the following error:
PING restream.io (3.233.7.160): 56 data bytes --- restream.io ping statistics --- 3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
For issue #2 I'm having issues with the following url: