Oracle Solaris 11.3 and Intel X552/X554 10GbE drivers

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

tic226

Feb 2, 2017
DE
I have a Supermicro X10SDV-2C-7TP4F [1], the onboard Pentium D1508 has integrated 10GbE (X552/X554 based) interfaces which i'm trying to use with Oracle Solaris 11.3 which didn't work so far, the interfaces don't show up in
Code:
dladm show-link
I'm new to Solaris and really could need a hand in finding a solution. So far i found out that the ixgbe drivers should work with the X552, OmniOS uses them and the interfaces show up there. I'm still a bit stumped by the lack of information i could find about the NIC, on a system with working drivers (linux, OmniOS, ESXi) they show up as 'X552/X554 based'; searching on Intel's website for X552 doesn't yield any useful results, just a plethora of different cards, Supermicro's block diagram of the mainboard in the manual only shows the 10GbE PHY. Searching the Solaris documentation from Oracle for articles about the ixgbe drivers didn't lead anywhere either. Apparently they exist and should be installed automagically, searching for related packages didn't yield any results.

How can i obtain the ixgbe drivers if those are the ones i need?
Is this related to (possbile) differences between the free version of Oracle Solaris (which i'm using) and the paid/licensed version?

[1]https://www.supermicro.nl/products/motherboard/Xeon/D/X10SDV-2C-7TP4F.cfm

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
Driver development for Oracle Solaris is d0ne at Oracle while developments of the free Solaris forks is done at Illumos. Last year the ixgbe driver for Illumos (OmniOS, OI, SmartOS etc) was updated to support the new Intel 55x and 710 nics.

I suppose there is a new ixbge driver available at Oracle as well but Oracle offers updates for Solaris 11 only with a paid subscription.
You options are now:

With Oracle Solaris and ZFS v37