Nostalgia: A look back at the Netgear ND520 NAS (1999)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Terry Kennedy

Jun 25, 2015
New York City
www.glaver.org
As part of updating my web site and posting new server pictures, I ended up parroting my "... a real turkey (slow, buggy, etc.) and was withdrawn from marketing by NETGEAR within a year or two of its introduction." description of the ND520, which I've been saying in one form or another for well over 15 years now. Since I actually still had one of my ND520 units from back then, I decided to do an in-depth anlaysis of the design (hardware and software) to see if I was being unduly harsh in my criticism of it.

The hardware is actually quite reasonable for its time. The only thing I'd quibble with is the choice of the Realtek RTL8139A Ethernet controller. A number of changes were made after the board was designed, either to reduce cost or because it was re-targeted for use in a lower-end server. In particular, the memory capacity was reduced from 2 * 256MB DIMMs to 1 * 16MB (with the second socket removed), the cache RAM (external to the CPU on this generation of hardware) was omitted, and disk support was dropped from 4 IDE drives to 1.

The software, well... not so much. But it did reflect the cutting edge back in 1999 - Linux 2.0.36 and Samba 2.0.3. Unofrtunately, these were hidden behind a web interface that didn't do much, even when it worked, and there was no support for a real console, either serial or video (the cable in the above picture just connects to the front panel LED board).