Norco 3x120mm PWM backplane

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

EffrafaxOfWug

Radioactive Member
Feb 12, 2015
I'm a newbie to Norco cases bu wanted a cheap'n'cheerful backup server so been spending the weekend standing one up. It's a 3U 3216 badged as a Logic Case SC-316 that takes standard 2U PSUs and has a fan wall of 3x120mm.

I've replaced the fans with Noctua NF-F12 PWMs which are exceedingly quiet and provide good static pressure; however I've noticed they run at full pelt (~1500rpm) which isn't entirely surprising given that the hot-plug backplan they're running from is just plugged into a 4-pin molex and there's no connection to the motherboard.

However, I notice that, nestled right in the corner behind the molex, is a 6-pin plug (in a 2x3 configuration); I'm guessing that this might be to be some sort of PWM connection for the whole backplane - is anyone else her familiar with this and can anyone give any explanation of what this is and if there are any cables/splitter available to hook this up to the motherboard PWM header(s)?

(Server in the middle of a RAID rebuild at the moment but I'll take a snap of the backplane and header when I can - you can't see the connector from the pics on their website since it's down right at the bottom between the drive cages and the fan wall)

Aestr

Oct 22, 2014
Seattle
Not sure on the plug you mentioned, but typically I don't associate that level of complexity with Norco. Is there any reason you don't just plug the fans directly into your motherboard? If the cables don't reach or there aren't enough headers, there are extension and splitter cables that work well and don't cost much at all.

EffrafaxOfWug

Radioactive Member
Feb 12, 2015