Newbie sanity check, HBA card...

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Failquail

Jan 22, 2020
Sorry for the post, been utterly confusing myself of late and it's for cable/card types i've never used before, so i'd like someone to check this will likely work :)

Case i've ordered is the Silverstone CS381 chassis. With my old PC's AMD B350 + 1700 CPU + 32GB RAM combo in it as my new NAS/VM build...
Got it all up and running for now in a temp old ATX case with unraid, but the storage config is new to me on the new case...

I need a HBA card, some list sata/sas, some list sas only, is there a difference between the two? I'll be using SATA HDDs.
I found this one, would this work? If you know of cheaper i'd be interested :)
And cables, this one? Any better options welcome...

Reactions: yst

RTM

Jan 26, 2014
SAS HBA's will as far as I know also support SATA disks (but you can usually check the manufacturers website for confirmation), but a SATA HBA (if such a thing exists, I think it is generally just called a SATA controller in listings) will only support SATA disks.

If you do not mind missing support in ESXi or RHEL/CentOS 8 you can go for something like the LSI 9211-8i (or IBM m1015, etc.), it may be one of the cheapest options available.

Generally speaking, known good ("cookiecutter") options are almost anything based on LSI/Avago/Broadcom's SAS2008, SAS2308 or SAS3008 (the n2215 is a SAS3008). As many of these cards come with a firmware that does RAID (generally meaning it is not a HBA) you want to ensure that you can crossflash it to "IT" mode firmware (look for instructions).