newbie here, please review this config

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

heja2009

Nov 21, 2012
Hi

planning to build my first real server, asking for any comments

Build’s Name: oloroso
Operating System/ Storage Platform: FreeBSD 9.1
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1240V2 3.4GHz
Motherboard: supermicro X9SCM-iiF (C204)
Chassis: Fractal Design Arc Midi Tower
Drives: 8x3TB (Seagate or Hitachi)
RAM: 32GB ECC DDR3-1333
Add-in Cards: 1xIBM M1015 PCIe 8-port SATA3
Power Supply: Seasonic G-550 (520W)
Other Bits: 2x32GB SSD for redundant boot

Usage Profile: pure file server, will be in link aggregated 2GBit/s network, OS X, Windows and mobile clients
zfs mirrored pool of 4 disks (2x4=8 disks total), I would like to run dedup if possible

Thanks in advance

Mike

May 29, 2012
EU
I don't know what the current status is about the *LM NIC driver for BSD but i figure its better than esxi, probably the biggest reason the iiF version of this board was made.
You might want to review that and save a few bucks by going with the SCM-F, plus get an extra pcie slot.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
I don't know what the current status is about the *LM NIC driver for BSD but i figure its better than esxi, probably the biggest reason the iiF version of this board was made.
You might want to review that and save a few bucks by going with the SCM-F, plus get an extra pcie slot.
Also on the X9SCM-F, because of using the LM NIC LAN 1 and LAN 2 are switched. Causes confusion for some customers which also drove the X9SCM-iiF. Had a nice sit down at Supermicro about this 2 months ago or so.

Jeggs101

Dec 29, 2010
I don't think you have enough ram for de-dupe and zfs. The freebsd zfs version is nowhere near the latest and I think dedupe performance is weak.

heja2009

Nov 21, 2012
just wanted so say thanks to all of you.
just ordered the server.
WD RED as disks, no SSDs for now.