New home construction considerations

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

NB2020

Dec 3, 2020
Hello all. I am in the process of designing a new home for myself and I need advice on the network topology and building requirements for a dedicated server room.

I believe my setup would be fairly typical. The equipment I plan on using include a dedicated router/firewall, 1-2 switches, 2 file servers, 1 media server, 1 NVR, 2 UPS's. All of these should fit on a standard 42U rack. I will add that I am new to servers so please let me know if my ideas below seem strange or impractical.

1. Most of these servers would be on the same LAN. However, I would like some of the devices to be isolated from the main network and internet, such as a server that is used only for backing up the other servers or the IPMI ports on all of the servers. I know VLANs can probably do this, but I want to know if there is a better method. Right now I am leaning towards physically separating the network using an additional router or switch that is not connected to the internet.

2. Given the above equipment and including room for growth, what type of electrical wiring and outlets should I install? I want to run 240V into the room for the higher efficiency. I don't have any of the specific hardware picked out to get an estimated total wattage and I hope some of your experiences would point me in the right direction. This would also help me with choosing an appropriate UPS.

3. I'm seeing some UPS's out there with input voltage of 208V and 230V. Would I be able to use them on 240V circuits? I have never seen 208V service in residential homes. I assume those are meant for commercial use.