New here

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

SyntaxSinner

Dec 5, 2020
Hey all, I'm just getting started with a home setup.

Currently, I have an r610 running some misc docker services, an r710 with omv5 and plex, which I'm considering adding a md1200 to with 12 7.2k 6tb drives, an r310 running security onion to operate as a log drain and IDs/ips, a usg4pro between the modem and SO, and a 1300mbps unifi ap, all on a netgear prosafe with no poe. After seeing the brocade discussion, I'm strongly considering picking one up.

If I can find a license for the brocade I'll do that, and if I can find a good raid solution for the md1200, I'll buy that. I think I'll do raid ,10 and use it for data analysis and backup.

I'd love feedback and recommendations! It's a pleasure to meet you all.

itronin

Nov 24, 2018
Denver, Colorado
If I can find a license for the brocade I'll do that, and if I can find a good raid solution for the md1200, I'll buy that. I think I'll do raid ,10 and use it for data analysis and backup.

I'd love feedback and recommendations! It's a pleasure to meet you all.
Welcome!

If you are talking about the switches listed in the brocade mega thread then see "Note 2" at the top of the first post.

gregsachs

Aug 14, 2018
LSI 9s86CV-8e is a pretty affordable PCI3 external raid adapter, can also run JBOD. Dual SFF-8088 ports.
I have not run raid with mine, I just run it in JBOD.
I have connected mine at various times to a homemade SAS enclosure using HP and Intel expander, a xyratex 1235, and a netapp ds2246.

Here is one for $27 with DRAM and BBU
Per manual, supports