Need help planning server upgrade

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

oelke23

Dec 30, 2018
I'm looking to upgrade my server a little bit and add on a DAS enclosure but I'm having some issues getting everything planned out before I buy stuff as I'm somewhat new to using RAID controllers and HBA cards. I'm planning on getting a rackmounted Rosewill case with hot swap bays to hold my drives and powering the drives with a 700 watt PSU and an old motherboard I had lying around. I did get the idea from one of the DIY guides on this site, if you're interested here's the link (https://www.servethehome.com/sas-expanders-diy-cheap-low-cost-jbod-enclosures-raid/). I was wanting to use the SAS expander in that guide for the enclosure but I wanted to use a different card in my actual server box. I'm not sure if it's going to work though as I said I'm new to using HBA cards and RAID controllers.

If I were to use the HP SAS expander card in my DAS enclosure connected to an LSI 9300-8e HBA card in my server box through an SFF-8088 to SFF-8644 cable, would my server actually see the drives?

I'm not looking to set up a RAID configuration really all I need is a way to expand the number of drives I can attach to my server without buying a RAID enclosure. The links to the items I'm hoping to use is below for your reference. Anybody had any experience with this hardware that can tell me if it'll work?

I am open to better ideas if anybody has any.

--------------Hardware Links----------------------

DAS case: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9CXGS...olid=2F03J9PTEA1D8&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

DAS Internal Breakout Cables: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B012BPLYJ...olid=2F03J9PTEA1D8&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

HP SAS Expander: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005WJC5Z...olid=2F03J9PTEA1D8&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it