My first server; Supermicro SC846E16-R1200B

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ricktsd

May 30, 2015
Hey guys,

So this is the first time I'm building a server like this. I just wanted to run this hardware by you guys and see what you think. I am a complete newbie to this, and want to get it done right the first time.

I plan to use this as a file server, Plex, Kodi, cloud server.

I saw a deal for this in the other subforum, and I'm going to try to get replicate it, even though it seems dead right now.

Chassis: Supermicro SC846E16-R1200B
Power Supply: 2 x PWS-1K21P-1R
Power Distributor: PDB-PT846-8824
Backplane: BPN-SAS2-846EL1

Motherboard: Supermicro MBD-X9SCM-F-O

Amazon.com: SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCM-F-O LGA 1155 Intel C204 Micro ATX Intel Xeon E3 Server Motherboard: Electronics

RAM - Crucial 16GB x 2

Crucial 32GB Kit (16GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L-1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x4 RDIMM Server Memory CT2K16G3ERSLD4160B / CT2C16G3ERSLD4160B at Amazon.com

RAM - Crucial 8GB x 4

Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L-1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC UDIMM Server Memory CT2KIT102472BD160B/CT2CP102472BD160B at Amazon.com

CPU - Intel Xeon E3-1230v2:

Amazon.com: Intel Xeon Quad-Core Processor E3-1230 v2 3.3GHz 8MB LGA 1155 CPU LGA BX80637E31230V2: Computers & Accessories

CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-U9DXi4 (maybe not necessary?)

Amazon.com: Noctua i4 CPU Cooler for Intel Xeon CPU_ LGA2011, 1356 and 1366 Platforms NH-U9DXi4: Computers & Accessories

OS drive - SATADOM 32 GB Internal Solid State Drive:

Amazon.com: SATADOM 32 GB Internal Solid State Drive: Computers & Accessories

RAID card: 1 x ServeRAID M1015

Cables: 1 x SFF-8087 to SFF-8087: Supermicro CBL 0281L 75cm Mini SAS SFF 8087 to Mini SAS SFF 8087 Internal | eBay

I currently have 2x5TB, 6x4TB, 2x3TB, 3x1.5TB drives

My questions if someone could help:

1. Is there any other hardware I need to buy?