Most User Friendly ZFS OS for shared storage

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016
I'm looking to migrate my VM datastore off of VMware VSAN and to a shared storage solution. I have no experience with ZFS or any Solaris platforms/forks. What would be the easiest/most user friendly (yet high performance) option for setting up an all SSD shared storage solution to present to my ESXi hosts?

azev

Jan 18, 2013
Cant go wrong with either freenas (vaai supported) or Napp-it

whitey

Jun 30, 2014
Another strong vote for FreeNAS. I deliver close to 3Gbps via NFS and 4 Gbps via iSCSI throughput off of a FreeNAS setup w/ 8 ssd's in a r10 config for my vSphere storage.

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
Any other source for DLing the Napp-it OVA other than off the official website? Right now it's DLing at 300KB/s and will take 3 hours.

@gea?
The download location is Germany. From another internet provider in Germany download time is usually < 30min for the 3GB file. It increases when connectivity to your provider is slow or with several concurrent downloads.

You can also download the OS iso for OmniOS, the free Solaris clone, install and add napp-it per wget. Vmware tools can be added per pkg install from the default repo.

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
Another strong vote for FreeNAS. I deliver close to 3Gbps via NFS and 4 Gbps via iSCSI throughput off of a FreeNAS setup w/ 8 ssd's in a r10 config for my vSphere storage.
Have you compared other Open-ZFS platforms or genuine Oracle Solaris ZFS?