Looking for router advice before moving to AT&T fiber

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Vesalius

Nov 25, 2019
Good afternoon everyone I have AT&T fiber I have a Unifi USG switch (8-60w) cloud key (gen 2) AP (nano) and i'm looking for some help getting set up.. My problem is the ATT Router I would like to by pass it.. I'm just starting out learning about networking and linux.. I have been reading alot about this and i'm sure the USG will not handle the connection i have.. (1000)Mbps So i'm getting ready to order the edgerouter 4.. Lastly I know everyones time is limited so i will definitely compensate you up front for your time.Thanks..
I think these might pertain to your hardware.

marcoi

Apr 6, 2013
Gotha Florida
Anyone running pfatt bypass upgrade pfsense to 2.5 yet? Seems like there are reports of issues with cpu per Reddit.

Zombielinux

Jun 14, 2019
Anyone running pfatt bypass upgrade pfsense to 2.5 yet? Seems like there are reports of issues with cpu per Reddit.
I've not had any issues whatsoever. The transition to 2.5 went smoothly, with the exception of having to manually copy all the files over again.

Zombielinux

Jun 14, 2019
did you end up doing an in place upgrade?
I actually didn't. My hard drive for the firewall died before I had a chance to address it. So I installed 2.5 directly, then just copied my old config over and prayed.

HAProxy wasn't happy, but the rest came together.

Zombielinux

Jun 14, 2019
okay i virtualize my pfsense box, so i will need to play with both fresh install and upgrade.
Yea, that's what I'd do. But it really shouldn't be too bad. Worst case is you could set up CARP or some other highly available setup if it behaves.

Vesalius

Nov 25, 2019
okay i virtualize my pfsense box, so i will need to play with both fresh install and upgrade.