Lian Li D8000 for home file server chassis?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

tullnd

Apr 19, 2016
USA
I've been researching a rebuild of my home server for a few months and am about ready to start buying. I'm hoping to replace an aging Synology DS-1511+ and harvest the 5x3TB drives in it. I also have about 10x1Tb Hitachi platters laying around I'd like to use. Currently running all my software on a i5-2500k tower setup, using Ubuntu.

I'd like to consolidate this all into one case. I'll be buying a new motherboard(IPMI is a feature I can't live without now since it'll be headless). I'd need at least 16 bays, but I don't really see myself ever needing much more than 24 or so. Hot swap is nice, but this is not high availability, so as long as it's not horrific to access the drives, I don't mind having them mounted.

The D8000 seems to run about $375 or so. I know I'll need to pick up fans for it, but they can be quiet. I'll need a power supply, but it'll be a simple ATX. 20 3.5" bays that are easily accessible from the front. Plenty of case room, and it's on wheels. There's 5.25 bays that can be converted for a few more 3.5" drive slots if I need it.

Yes, I'll need to purchase either some type of expander or multiple SAS/Sata cards(it seems like 3 cards would be cheaper/easier than an expander though). I think I'll be running FreeNas possibly on the new build, so I believe there's no issue there running multiple cards.