iSCSI + MPIO + ESXi6

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BSDguy

Sep 22, 2014
Sorry if this is a long post but I could use some help please :)

I just passed my VCP6-DCV exam and as a result of that I purchased two of the following servers:

Supermicro 5028D-TN4T

Each server has 128GB of RAM and I also bought a Cisco SG300-28 managed gigiabit switch. I am using my Netgate SG-2440 as the firewall/router with pfsense. I already had a custom built server based on a Supermicro X10SL7-F motherbaord that I will be using for the SAN using Starwinds Virtual SAN as the iSCSI target.

When I studied for my VCP6 exam I did everything nested in VMware Workstation 12.5 so this is my "real" first vSphere 6 cluster setup with shared storage. I've setup my SAN as follows:

• Windows Server 2016 RTM with the MPIO role installed (and I enbaled MPIO for iSCSI devices)
  • 32GB of RAM
  • For now, two Samsung SM863 480GB SATA SSD drives to be used as datastores (no RAID)
  • Two Samsung Pro 840 128GB drives mirrored for boot volume (not used for VMs)
  • BIOS, IPMI and LSI firmware is all on the latest as of today
  • Installed Starwinds Virtual SAN 8.0.9996.0
  • Installed a quad HP NC364T gigabit network card to be used for iSCSI traffic

On the ESXi side I have ESXi6 on the latest build as of today and also installed a quad low profile HP NC364T network card which will be used for iSCSI traffic only. On the Cisco switch 12 of the ports are in a VLAN for iSCSI storage traffic only.