Is FreeBSD the best way to go?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

sim871

Apr 22, 2012
Bermuda
Greetings

I would like to build a ZFS based home server that does the following tasks:
File server generally
Backup 2 Windows desktops
DHCP server
Firewall
DNS caching
Provide remote access
Time machine back ups
Needs to run Sabnzbd
Store Mp3, Flac, Wav files and serve them to iTunes, SqueezeBox, JMRiver
Store photos and serve them to Adobe Lightroom or other Win or Mac program
Store movies and serve them to iTunes and Plex
May need to host a VM or two in order to achieve the above

Looking around FreeBSD (ZFS) seems to meet these needs. Although I have no Unix/Linux experience I am willing to put the time in.

Are these goals achieveable with FreeBSD?
Is there a better way? I am biased towards ZFS because of how robust it is but I am NOT knowledgeable enough about the various OS's ZFS may sit within.

Last edited:

sotech

Jul 13, 2011
Australia
I personally favour OpenIndiana+ZFS - just a matter of taste, really, I like using OI more than FreeBSD. OI has napp-it, whereas FreeBSD has ZFSguru, if I recall correctly. I don't know anything about the latter but napp-it is excellent and is under constant development.

I would consider making an all-in-one system based around ESXi with various VMs to do the tasks you're listing - we have that sort of setup here (well, two of that setup) and they work brilliantly. I like keeping the systems segregated by purpose so as to prevent an issue with one affecting the others.

OI+Napp-it for file serving, photo storage/access for editing (all editing done over network in LR4/CS6) & Time Machine backups as well as movie/music storage
pfsense/untangle VM for firewall/DHCP
Ubuntu for various apps/wikis and a subsonic server, pointed to the music shares on the OI VM
WHS 2011 for caching Windows updates