Intel VROC, 2023

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
May 20, 2020
This was prompted by some discussion in the comments section of the Dell 760 server review - basically that there's not enough data available about VROC in a production setting (i.e. not home user).

I have some experience with VROC in a production setting. Windows Server 2019. Only 1 box (we're a small shop). Purchase was late 2021.

See here for the Intel landing page:

Intel® Virtual RAID on CPU (Intel® VROC) Enterprise RAID Solution

Note the significant limitations, including:

Only specific drive models supported, RAID 10 limited to 4 drives.

My goal was a RAID 5 setup, as that level of expected performance (about equal to 1 NVMe drive) should be adequate. RAID 5 is advertised up to 24 drives. Cool I thought, I can start with 4 drives and expand as needed. That's what I did, expanding ultimately to 5 and 6 drives after months of problem free operation on 4 drives.

The performance was about as expected and was sufficient for my application.

The unexpected part is that for RAID 5 arrays larger than 4 drives, it does not perform at least some of the parity calculations on the fly. This is undocumented (as far as I could find). To run these calculations, one needs to execute a function within the VROC driver GUI, “verify and repair”. The larger the array, the more “errors” are found and fixed with each run of this function. Talking hundreds to thousands on 5 and 6 drive arrays and this process takes ~12 hours to complete. This is after only writing a few TB to the array (1-2).

How to Verify Data and Repair Inconsistencies on Existing RAID Volume...

RAID Volume Data Verify and Repair