Infiniband QDR/FDR 40Gb questions and help

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

xtantaudio

Apr 8, 2022
Ok, so I have Infiniband in my home lab..... yay ???

First time poster here, but I have tried to read everything I can. I have basic linux experience, but excellent windows/cisco/networking experience. I am looking for some assistance understanding what my next steps should be. This started out as an adventure that now has me almost totally confused.

The details:
3 Lenovo RD640 servers running ESXi 7.03, each with 1 Mellanox CX354A dual port card. (version 2-5, not version 1 and NOT the pro version of the card)
latest firmware flashed on each card using my workbench PC and then installed into each server following the instructions in the post found here:
https://forums.servethehome.com/ind...x-3-ib-ethernet-dual-port-qsfp-adapter.20525/
each card is connected (using one port on each card) to the Mellanox 5022 8 port Infiniband switch using a Mellanox QSFP+ cable
The Mellanox switch port links light up and show green when everything is connected and only after I start the OpenSM subnet manager.

WHATS NEXT ? do I need to have the cards set to passthrough into a specific VM on each server(like it is now), or can VMWare handle the card using the Infiniband protocol directly? Do I switch it to Ethernet and use it that way on the VMWare hosts? thoughts, opinions are welcome.

The next questions are:
1. Only one port on the card is showing in the windows VM on the ESXi 7.0.X Server, is this normal ? I am using passthrough on the ESXI Server to bring the card "into" the windows VM.

2. Do I need a different or specific VMWare or Mellanox provided driver ? Does VMWare support Infiniband ? I seem to find conflicting posts on this issue, not to mention posts from 2013, which dont help at all.