iGPU, Chipsets and confusion.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Nicolai

Sep 4, 2020
Hello Everyone.

I'm really hoping someone here will have the knowledge I need and the time to edumacate me in the world of servers. I'm brand new to it and only just starting out with it, and there's all of a sudden a world of new features and limitations, that I'm not used to having to consider or even have been a problem before.

I do apologize in advanced, this might be a lengthy thread, but I hope you'll bare with me.

I've set my heart on making a server, and I've got only a couple of things I want it to be able to do:
  • Function as a NAS with a shared network folder to my Win10 Pro laptop (if possible cloud access)
  • Run a Plex Media Server

My current living arrangements doesn't include a closet, attic, or basement, so it will have to be situated in my living room, thus noise is a concern. Because of this, aesthetics and noise matters, thus I've set my heart on a SilverStone Technology SST-RM400 with a low noise ATX power supply and Noctua fans. Next limitation I have a concern for is the power consumption, I'm a student, so I cannot afford a large power bill. And here's where it's starting to become complicated for me.

Because of my economy, I want to use an iGPU for Plex Media Server for hardware accelerated transcoding, firstly because I have no room to spare in my economy to buy a dedicated GPU, but also because of the additional power it'll consume, even idling.