I gave up or "The history of my new ZFS filer"

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
Sorry for the long post, it was an even longer process but I am sure it will be of interest to some or at least entertaining enough for the others:)

Prelude:

I have been running 3 and 4 node vSan clusters for 3+ years now since I was looking for reliable VM hosting for my home environment. I run almost everything on VMs, firewall, monitoring, AD, file services and especially desktops & gaming boxes. My wife opted out in the early days (too much downtime) so its only the Kid and I on it but I do have a quite high expectation set and he is o/c not known for his patience;)

Original reason to move to VMs on everything was noise and power saving - the former was achieved (Zero clients), the latter ... well lets not talk about that.

I have been running various variations of vSan during that period (2 node + remote witness, 3 node, and finally 4 node) and decided to stay at 4 nodes due to increased resilience. O/c 2 node vsan with witness on my VPN connected remote backup server worked fine - until one day due to I can't remember what both of my local hosts went down at the same time ...
O/c i was running vCenter on vSan so it could move around ... but no vCenter, no dvSwitch... no dvSwitch no vSan... no vSan no vCenter... o/c that meant also no Firewall/no VPN, no AD and actually no vSan hosted desktops. What a fun day :p

Since that time I have an 'emergency admin box' (physical) in my office (directly connected to the router) so I can at least google thing in case of error.

The move from 3 nodes to 4 nodes came when doing maintenance on one node and it did not come up properly any more for whatever reason - no fun running on two nodes when any downtime of either of these would cause the cluster to fail again... so eventually I moved to 4 for peace of mind.