HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultimate Customization Guide

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

hvddrift

Jan 12, 2022
Hi, I have this server at my home. I also have 5/6 older 3.5 SATA drives sitting in my cupboard. I use unraid and I was contemplating adding these to the server.

I have 4 HDD already in the server, so if I was to add a Case like the Fractal Design Define for the HDD, what would I need to connect the server to the case? (I am very new to home servers, so I apologies for the newbie questions)

I saw on reddit this reply:

• You can use a cheap SAS card like this one, flashed in IT mode to connect up to 8 SATA drives. Other cards may be repurposed but not all flash to IT mode. There is a lot of material on this topic on YT. PCIe to SATA cards exist but those are either expensive or questionable IMO.
But I am unsure if that will definitely work.

I would love to hear from anyone that has put external drives in the HPE Gen10 Plus and their cost efficient configuration.

Thank you.

tumor_

Oct 13, 2021
There seems to be series of new QM2 cards. There are higher end models with PCIe gen 4, but the interesting one for me at least is the new

"QM2-2P10G1TB"

Featuring 1x 10gbe + 2x m.2 ssd slots with a total bandwidth of PCIe Gen3 x 8. The 10gb port is advertised as "high efficiency", using about half the power of previous models.

I have just ordered the new card, though it may take some time to arrive. Just hoping its compatible with gen10+ :)
Please report back when you get it.
I have given up on trying to get the ' QNAP QM2-2P10G1TA' to work. BIOS update did not work for me.

christian-schulze

May 11, 2022
Adding to the collective knowledge about SSD compatibility when using the QNAP QM2-2P10G1TB adapter in the HPE MicroServer Gen10 Plus...

Failed:
  • Samsung 1TB SSD 980

Worked:
  • Intel 1TB 660p
  • Intel 2TB 670p

shadow82

Sep 26, 2022